Indie | Musicosity


The Bedroom Philosopher

With his third album Songs From The 86 Tram fresh on the shelves, The Bedroom Philosopher is teaming up with his partners in crime The Awkwardstra for a massive national album launch tour. As The Bedroom Philosopher himself puts it: "my live show is both a remarkably memorable life changing experience and cause for major concern." The Awkwardstra were handpicked from ’Indie Snobs Anonymous’, a self-help group for displaced Melbourne musicians (feat. members of The Paradise Motel & The Brunettes) and provide pitch-perfect tightness to the Philosopher’s helter skelter.

Artist Type: 

Cute Is What We Aim For

On August 18, 2009, lead singer Shaant Hacikyan announced via his Twitter account he was going solo. Dave Melillo confirmed that he and guitarist Jeff Czum had left the band. Jeff, Dave, and Mike Lasaponara went on to create a new band, Nocturnal Me. In early 2010, it was announced that the band will continue with frontman Shaant Hacikyan as the only original member to continue, joining with former members of Mandy K.

Artist Type: 

Jess Locke

Jess’ growing live set brims with subtle, resilient melodies, and savvy, considered lyrics. They not only drive, but are also suggested by, the vocal melodies. Her songs are crafted like poems, little machines of intelligence, love, melancholy desire and concision. While drawing on influences from well-known artists like Leonard Cohen, Elliott Smith and Cat Power, Jess has developed her own assured and confident voice that takes these artists’ work as a point of departure rather than an ideal to be achieved. She’s very much her own artist.

Artist Type: 


fun. is an indie pop band which formed in New York City, New York, United States in 2008. The band consists of Nate Ruess (vocals), Andrew Dost (keyboard, bass) and Jack Antonoff (guitar, trumpet). Ruess is a former member of The Format, Andrew Dost is a former member of Anathallo and Jack Antonoff is a member of Steel Train. The band also includes touring members Nate Harold (bass), Emily Moore (keyboards, guitar) and Will Noon (drums).

Artist Type: 

LCD Soundsystem

LCD Soundsystem is the musical side project of producer James Murphy, co-founder of New York City dance-punk label DFA Records. Formed in 2002, the music of LCD Soundsystem can also be described as a mix of alternative dance and post punk, along with elements of disco and other styles. During live performances, Murphy is accompanied by Al Doyle (guitar, percussion -- also of Hot Chip),Tyler Pope (!!! / Out Hud) (bass), Nancy Whang (keyboards) and Pat Mahoney (drums) Previous members include Phil Mossman (guitar, percussion) and Phil Skarich (bass) .

Paper House

A three piece Indie/Alterntive/Rock band formed in Hereford England. Comprising of Matt Money Bass/Vocals, James Knight Guitar/Vocals and Dave Marlboro on Drums.
The band, Paper House, formed in the summer of 2006 when James and Matt finally found a good drummer, in the form of Dave, after a long search through their hometown of Hereford. They all had the same aspirations to provide quality songs that will affect the audience differently than any other band in Hereford at the moment, and from this starting point, they began playing and writing. Tags: 

The Vines

The Vines are an Australian alternative rock band noted for producing a musical hybrid of '60s rock and '90s alternative music. Since 2006 their line-up has consisted of vocalist and lead guitarist Craig Nicholls, rhythm guitarist Ryan Griffiths, bassist Brad Heald and drummer Hamish Rosser. They appeared on the cover of Rolling Stone in October 2002 (the first Australian band to do so since Men at Work in 1983) with the words "Rock is Back: meet the Vines" boldly emblazoned underneath.

Artist Type: 

Holly Throsby

Holly Throsby is a singer-songwriter originally from Sydney, Australia but currently based in London. Holly's songs are mostly set at night, and are built around finger-picked guitar and her distinctive, fragile voice. The arrangements, which incorporate double bass, piano accordion, melodian, clarinet and the barest of vocal recordings, are both delicate and painterly. She has released three full length albums- On Night in 2004, Under The Town in 2006 and A Loud Call in 2008. She was nominated for an ARIA award in 2006 for Best Female.

Artist Type: 

Black Dice

Black Dice are an experimental group based in Brooklyn. They formed in Providence, Rhode Island, United States in 1997, comprising members Bjorn Copeland (guitar), Hisham Bharoocha (drums) (following a short drumming stint by Lightning Bolt's Brian Chippendale), Sebastian Blanck (bass) and Eric Copeland (vocals). After the band relocated to new york City, Sebastian Blanck left and was replaced by Aaron Warren. Hisham Bharoocha had previously sung for Lightning Bolt and is currently working on other projects, but he left the band too and is now working as a solo musician Soft Circle.

Artist Type: