seen em live | Musicosity

seen em live


A13 is a DJ from Melbourne, Australia who is highly regarded as one of the most exciting new DJ/producers to emerge on the ever expanding Australian Bass Music scene. With 10 years of DJ experience under his belt and co-running club night Heavy Innit!!, A13 has helped introduce to Melbourne, Australia the Dubstep and Future Beat sound that have spawned from underground studios all over the globe. Tags: 
Artist Type: 

Jon Stevens

Jon Stevens (1962- ) is a New Zealand-born singer, now an Australian citizen. Stevens moved to Australia after success as a pop star in New Zealand in the 1970's (his best-known songs from this era are Jezebel and a cover of Montego Bay). He is most recognised for his work as the lead singer of Sydney band Noiseworks, who had major hits in the 1980's with "Take Me Back" and "Touch". Once Noiseworks disbanded, Stevens was part of two Australian productions of Jesus Christ Superstar - playing Judas on both occasions, to high acclaim.

Artist Type: 


Guineafowl is an unsigned six-piece band from Sydney, Australia. The music video for their single, Botanist, was featured in Rage's Top Fifty Clips of '09. Tags: 
Artist Type: 

Shane Nicholson

The Brisbane-born Shane Nicholson is an accomplished singer-songwriter with two critically acclaimed, yet commercially unsuccesful albums under his name - 'It's A Movie' and 'Faith & Science' - and a best-selling duet album with wife Kasey Chambers under the name Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson 'Rattlin Bones'. He also released 2 EPs and an album with his band Pretty Violet Stain, who broke up in 2001.

Artist Type: 

James Reyne

November 2015 sees the release of ALL THE HITS LIVE, an album recorded earlier in the year at Perth's Astor Theatre. James released a brand new album THIRTEEN in March 2012, containing the singles English Girls, Capsize and Whatcha Gonna Do About It?

James Reyne came to recognition to the Australian public as lead singer of classic Australian band Australian Crawl in the 1970's. They had a number of hits including "Reckless", "Boys Light Up", "Beautiful People", "Shutdown", "Errol", "Oh No Not You Again" and "Downhearted"
After the band split in 1986, James spent some time in the United States and Europe, returning to Australia in 1987.

His first solo album, "JAMES REYNE" (1987) went triple platinum and included three top 10 singles: "Fall Of Rome", "Hammerhead" and "Motors Too Fast". Other singles from this album included "Always The Way" and "Ript It Up".

In the following years James released more solo albums, "HARD REYNE" (1989) which contaimed the Top 40 singles "House Of Cards", "One More River" and "Trouble In Paradise".
In 1991 James returned with his most successful Australian album "ELECTRIC DIGGER DANDY"(1991), which effortlessly mirrored the success of the first. This album contained the smash hits "Slave", "Any Day Above Ground" and "Some People'", plus a reworking of the Aussie Crawl song "Reckless".

James joined country music star James Blundell and recorded the classic Dingoes song "WAY OUT WEST" which exploded into the number 1 position on the Australian charts in 1992.

He next joined Daryl Braithwaite, Jef Scott and Simon Hussey on the very successful album "THE COMPANY OF STRANGERS" in 1993 which included the top 40 hits "Motor City", "Sweet Love" and "Daddy's Gonna Make You A Star".

James then returned to Los Angeles to record with renowned producer Stewart Levine, arriving back in 1994 with the critically acclaimed CD "THE WHIFF OF BEDLAM". The album was a departure in sound for James and featured a more organic sound, complete with brass section. The album spawned the hits "Red Light Avenue", "Day In The Sun" and the final single "It's Only Natural" in 1995.

While touring the album in Australia and overseas during this period, James released the energetic and profilic double Live album titled LIVE IN RIO, recorded in Brazil. A single "Oh No Not You Again" was featured from this CD.

Throughout his career James has appeared in several and varied theatrical, film and television productions and concert events, the more visible of these including "Return To Eden", "Tina; What's Love Got To Do With It?", television drama "State Coroner" and "The Little Shop Of Horrors" (1996)

While signing to Roadshow Music in 1997, James headed into the studio with famed producer and produced a single "Brand New Emperor's Clothes", to be featured on a forthcoming album.

In 1999 James recorded and released the CD "DESIGN FOR LIVING" with friends and brothers Scott and Brett Kingman. Arguably the most critically applauded album of his career, it further cemented his position as a unique, witty, thoughtful and challenging songwriter and singer. This album featured the singles "Wonderful Today", "Not Waving, Drowning" and the classic live favourite "Reno".

2004 saw the completion of "SPEEDBOATS FOR BREAKFAST", released on Liberation Records. It was a self funded project and saw James break free of the record company restrictions and allowed to him to be in control creatively. Radio-only singles "Bug" and "Rainbows Dead End" were featured on this CD.
Rainbows Dead End Music Video:

As part of the Liberation Blue Accoustic series, James released two highly successgful accoustic albums in recent times. …"AND THE HORSE YOU RODE IN ON"" which allowed James to revisit many of the above titles with little more than a lone acoustic guitar underpinning the most distinctive voice of his generation.
More reworkings of his solo and Australian Crawl material were sounded on "GHOST SHIP" released in 2007.

2007 saw the release of James 8th Studio album. "EVERY MAN A KING" closing a 30-year circle since James first led Australian Crawl into the front line of the Oz rock boom. His eye and pen grew sharper through a platinum-lined solo career, but never have his wit and poignancy been on more consistently solid musical ground than they are here. Stand-out tracks include "Little Man You've Had a Busy Day", "Light In The Tunnel" and "The Postman".

Following a live DVD release in late 2007, titled "One Night In Melbourne", a CD/DVD of the show was available in 2009. The show was filmed and recorded at Melbourne's Palais Theatre and saw James perform 30 songs from his vast catalogue.

One project, titled JAMES REYNE SINGS THE KING has James performing and re-interpreting 14 classic Elvis Presley songs. The album TCB was released in April 2010. A dedicated website has been set up to support the project.

A new album, Thirteen was released in March 2012.

Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.

Artist Type: 

The Shiny Brights

The Shiny Brights are an indie rock band from Adelaide, Australia. The five members have varied tastes in music that all influence their songs, ranging from epic rock with soaring layers of guitars to sing-along pop, to straight out garage rock/post-punk, held together by lead singer Wolfgang’s distinctive voice and the bands four-part gang vocals. They rehearse in a warehouse full of washing machines which inspired the band name, deriven from a laundromat franchise in Adelaide called Shiny Brights.

Artist Type: